About The Social Gaming Industry

I’m pulling together some thoughts regarding social gaming. Here’s the high-level and sources I’m pulling from. If you have others, please contact me – I’ll make sure to give you some recognition.

What is social gaming? (my explanations)

Any online game (PC, game console, web-based, mobile) with one of the following capabilities:

  • Invite a friend to play the game with or without you
  • Entice your friends to play the game by sharing your achievements
  • Multi-player (synchronously or asynchronously)

Somewhat related to social media

  • Some social games started on social networks, such as Facebook
  • Some social games added social networking to an existing casual game
  • Some game environments encourage friends to play the same game by sharing achievements, such as on Xbox Live

Social Game Studios & Players: I plan to pull from:

Where are social games being played? http://mashable.com/2010/08/11/social-gaming-business/

Engagement, Audiences and Revenue: I plan to pull from:

Winning at social gaming: http://mashable.com/2010/08/11/social-gaming-business/

Examples of Social Branded Games: I plan to pull from:

Examples of Brands in Social Gaming: I plan to pull from:

And of course, I plan to reference the current top games on Facebook:

http://www.insidefacebook.com/2010/08/02/top-25-facebook-games-for-august-2010/ and the game dynamics that SCVNGR uses:

http://techcrunch.com/2010/08/25/scvngr-game-mechanics/

What am I missing?

One Response

  1. […] Gaming for Brand Advertisers Posted on September 22, 2010 by briangroth As promised, I’ve pulled together my view of the social gaming industry. You can get the full presentation on […]

Leave a Reply

