What’s your EQ?

I used to think the ideas behind an Emotional Quotient (EQ) score was silly, and sharing it was even more so. However, I’ve learned the importance of improving self-awareness, self-management, social awareness, and relationship management. Those are all great skills to have in business! And to be honest, I do find the idea of putting a score to it to be a bit silly, but it does help explain what I should focus on.

After realizing the importance of working on these 4 types of emotional awareness, I have been working to improve my Emotional Quotient (EQ) by studying the Emotional Intelligence 2.0 book and I recently took my test to get my EQ score.

Since I share most everything else online, I figured I might as well share the scores that rate my emotional capabilities. Right? To be honest, I’m rather proud of my EQ scores (that emotion is called ego). 

First, let’s explain the ranges of scoring:

– Scores of 90-100 are much higher than average, according to the book.

– Scores of 80-89 are above average.

My overall Emotional Intelligence Score is 89

My Personal Competence score is 92, which explained as: Your ability to accurately perceive your emotions and stay aware of them as they happen. This includes
keeping on top of how you tend to respond to specific situations and certain people.

  • This includes my Self-Awareness score of 91, which is explained as: Your ability to accurately perceive your emotions and stay aware of them as they happen. This includes keeping on top of how you tend to respond to specific situations and certain people.
  • And it includes my Self-Management score of 93, which is explained as: Your ability to use awareness of your emotions to stay flexible and positively direct your behavior. This means
    managing your emotional reactions to all situations and people

My Social Competence score is 85, explained as: The combination of your social awareness and relationship management skills. It’s more about how you are with other people.

  • This includes my Social Awareness score of 87, which is explained as: Your ability to accurately pick up on emotions in other people and get what is really going on. This often means understanding what other people are thinking and feeling, even if you don’t feel the same way.
  • This includes my Relationship Management score of 83, which is explained as: Your ability to use awareness of your emotions and the emotions of others to manage interactions successfully. Letting emotional awareness guide clear communication and effective handling of conflict.

I’m not happy with those scores in the 80’s, since I’d rather be much higher than average for everything, so I’ll be focusing on improving them.

Leave a Reply

