Tracking Event Invitations Via Bit.ly

I co-host a marketing-focused networking group in San Francisco with my friend Thom, which we do on behalf of the Digital Doughnut group in London. I experimented using Twitter as the primary marketing channel for our most recent event and used bit.ly to track the traffic. Here’s what I did and the results:

  1. After we created our event on Meetup.com, I created a Bit.ly link to track where traffic came from
  2. We then created an event on Facebook and Google+, which pointed to the Bit.ly link, and I blogged about it here. But, we didn’t really promote the event on any platform other than Twitter and through personal e-mails. One of our members shared it once on LinkedIn once, as did the Digital Doughnut guys via their Digital Marketing group.
  3. For Twitter, I used TweetDeck to schedule tweets every couple of days, such as:
    image 
  4. I also reached out to individuals and local marketing-related companies on Twitter, such as DemandBase, which was an integral part of the presentation for the night:
    image

 

The results from Bit.ly show some click fraud to start with, such as:

Results

But overall, while some traffic came in at the same time as my scheduled tweets, such as:

image

I think the personal e-mails I sent drove most of the traffic:

image

In the end, the results were:

  1. 35 signed up on the Meetup.com site
  2. We now have 77 members in the meetup.com group
  3. Ultimately, we had almost 30 people show up in person at the event
Leave a Reply

